ASCE Pittsburgh Section Awards

Announcing the 2016 Award Winners

The 2016 ASCE Pittsburgh Section Award Winners will be celebrated on February 18th at the Annual Awards Banquet.  Join us there!

  • Civil Engineer of the Year: N. Catherine Bazan-Arias, Ph.D., P.E. - DiGioia Gray, Inc.
  • Young Civil Engineer of the Year: Sonya M. Flournoy, P.E. - LR Kimball
  • Professor of the Year: Andrew P. Bunger, Ph.D. - University of Pittsburgh
  • Government Engineer of the Year: Bernard R. Lindstrom, PE - Pittsburgh Water and Sewer Authority
  • Distinguished Civil Engineer: Alex G. Sciulli, P.E. - ALEM Consulting
  • Meritorious Service to the Pittsburgh Section: Larry W. Souleret, P.E., P.L.S. - Lennon Smith Souleret Engineers
  • Employer Recognition Award: Jacobs
  • Civil Engineering Achievement Award: SR 376 Parkway West A49 & A55 - Owner: PennDOT District 11-0, Prime Consultant: HDR, Prime Contractor: Swank Construction Company
  • Award of Merit: Center Township Water Treatment Plant - Prime Consultant: Lennon Smith Souleret Engineers
  • Civil Engineering Sustainability Award: Frick Environmental Center - Owner: Pittsburgh Parks Conservancy, Prime Consultant: H.F. Lenz Company, Prime Contractor: P.J. Dick
  • Journalism Award: Mark Nootbaar - 90.5 WESA

Congratulations to this year's winners!

2015 Winners Announced!

Congratulations to the 2015 Award winners!  ASCE Pittsburgh Section Awards were presented on February 20, 2016 as part of our Engineers’ Week celebration! Click on the award title for information on award criteria and past awardees.

Civil Engineering Achievement Award

Hulton Bridge Replacement - PennDOT District 11 - Project Team: Gannett Fleming / SAI Consulting / Brayman Construction Company / CDR Maguire

Awards of Merit

Green Infrastructure Program - Pittsburgh Water and Sewer Authority

SR 0079, Section 20H, South Junction - PennDOT District 12 - Project Team: HDR / Mackin Engineering / JMT / Golden Triangle Construction / The Burns Group

Sustainability Award

Chatham University's Eden Hall Stormwater  Management - CEC

Employer Recognition Award

DiGioia, Gray & Associates

Service to People Award

John Schombert - 3 Rivers Wet Weather

Journalism Award

Daniel Moore - Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Michael A. Gross Meritorious Service to the Pittsburgh Section

To learn more about Michael A. Gross, please see this article from the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.

Lauren Terpak - AECOM

Professor of the Year

Dr. John Brigham - University of Pittsburgh

Young Government Civil Engineer of the Year

Timothy O'Loughlin, PE - US Army Corps of Engineers

Government Civil Engineer of the Year

Greg Rumbaugh, PE - Mine Safety and Health Administration

Young Civil Engineer of the Year

Thomas Batroney, PE, ENV SP - Hatch Mott MacDonald

Civil Engineer of the Year

Bill Gross, PE - HDR

Distinguished Civil Engineer Award

Thomas Leech, PE, SE - Gannett Fleming

Student Awards Foundation

Applications for the 2016-2017 SAF awards are now available.  Applications are due by January 13, 2017. Click below for the application requirements and form. 

 © ASCE Pittsburgh Section. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software